Lettering Guides

After a lot of searching online I settled on Random Olive’s brush lettering practice guide. I suggest you take a look at several different ones and decide which one is best for you. I liked Olive’s guide for numerous reasons, first it begins with JUMBO letters. Having a teaching degree, I know for students to learn to write you always start large then scale down in size.

Also, although it’s not specifically designed for the iPad you I found that you can import the guide into an app (tutorial to come). I use Procreate for iOS, it’s in the app store for $5.99. However, I suggest finding an app that you like and that can work with whatever guide you decide to use.

Some of the guides I found were incredibly different than my handwriting and I wanted something that was close to my hand writing that I could vary as I build my skills!

Here’s a list of guides for you to look at:

Random Olive’s Practice Guide *this is a referral program link meaning I get 40% for every guide purchased via this link.

The Postman’s Knock Guides

Pretty Prints and Papers Worksheets

Liss Letters Courses

Before I committed to a guide I waited several months because I wanted to make sure I had the one that would work for me. I didn’t want to invest in a guide that I wouldn’t use (can you tell I’m a bit frugal? Hey, it’s ok!)

img_0584
Tablescape at the Lauren Heim workshop!

For my birthday I received a ticket to a Beginner’s Hand Lettering Workshop that was being held locally. I spent 2 1/2 hours learning the basics and am extremely happy that I got to have a live demonstration and help from Lauren. What I didn’t know was that a lot of the workshops offer email newsletters, virtual help and much more. If you decide to attend a workshop keep this in mind because you get a ton more than what you pay for (or at least that’s how I feel).

Happy Lettering!

2 thoughts on “Lettering Guides

Leave a Reply

